Teams of researchers from the U.S., Russia, and Japan have finally released the proposed names of the four new elements in the periodic table – the elements 113, 115, 117, and 118.

According to the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC), any new element must be named after either: a mythological concept or character (including an astronomical object), a mineral, or similar substance, a place or geographical region, a property of the element, or a scientist.

The new proposed names are:

  • nihonium (Nh), Z =113

From “Nippon,” or Japan.

  • moscovium (Mc), Z = 115

From Moscow, the capital of Russia.

  • tennessine (Ts), Z = 117

From Tennessee, a U.S. state.

  • oganesson (Og), Z = 118

After Russian physicist, Yuri Oganessian.

These new element names have already been accepted by the IUPAC, and will not have to undergo a five-month period of public review, which expires on 8 November 2016. If no one complains, then the names become official. 

Share This Article