The Leonid meteor shower is going to be lighting up our skies tonight, so be sure to bundle up and head outside for some viewing. The last big Leonid storm was in 2002, when over 3,000 meteors fell per hour. But that’s nothing compared to what we saw during the 1833 shower. At this time, people were given a real show. It appeared as though the heavens were falling when, over the course of one night, we saw more than 72,000 shooting stars per hour.

We won't get a show like that this year; however, you should be able to see multiple meteors every hour, NASA estimates 20 to 30 an hour, but there is always a chance that you will witness a real storm of meteors.

But if your skies have a bit too much pollution, a few too many clouds, or if you just hate the cold, you can still catch the action. The show will be playing online via two webcasts airing tonight (Nov. 17) and continuing on into the wee hours of Tuesday morning. The Slooh Community Observatory starts its Leonid meteor shower webcast at 8 p.m. EST (0100 GMT), and a NASA webcast is scheduled to start at 7:30 p.m. EST (0030 GMT).

Watch it Here:

Broadcast live streaming video on Ustream

And Catch Slooh Here:

All About the Leonids:

 


Share This Article