SpaceX
Off World

Elon Musk Set to Reveal A Breaking SpaceX Announcement

Get ready. It's going to be a big day.

Jolene CreightonFebruary 27th 2017

This year has already been a rather epic one for SpaceX and Elon Musk, and it’s only February. Just last week, we saw the Falcon 9’s third successful landing on solid ground, a landing which took place alongside SpaceX’s first commercial rocket launch from NASA’s Kennedy Space Center.

The significance of these reusable rocket landings cannot be overstated.

Successfully reusing boosters is a critical part of bringing down the cost of launches, as we won’t have to build a completely new rocket for every single mission. According to SpaceX president Gwynne Shotwell, reusability is expected to lower the cost of launches by a staggering 30 percent.

This would allow for more frequent launches and, as a result, faster progress in both commercial spaceflight and our off-world research and exploration. But it seems that Elon Musk has something else up his sleeve.

“SpaceX announcement coming at 1 p.m. PST,” Musk wrote on Twitter yesterday. If you need some translation, that means that the reveal is set for 4 p.m. EST (2100 GMT).

Unfortunately, SpaceX representatives won’t say anything more than simply “stay tuned.” As a result, speculation abounds. Do they have an update on their mission to get humans Mars? News about the development of the Falcon Heavy rocket? Are they launching a new kind of program? Do they have a new major contract?

We will have to wait until this afternoon to see.

Keep up. Subscribe to our daily newsletter.

I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its User Agreement and Privacy Policy
Next Article
////////////